Honesty: Some Thrive, Some Fail

Honesty: Some Thrive, Some Fail

By. Erik Peterson

American Marketing Association states clearly six ethical values in their Statement of Ethics: Honesty, Responsibility, Fairness, Respect, Transparency, and Citizenship.

Zappos is a fine example of adhering to the value of Honesty while Enron over ten years ago failed to adhere to the AMA’s values.

I ordered a pair of shoes from Zappos a couple years ago and when it arrived on my door step, the sizing wasn’t correct and I was quite upset. I emailed their customer service in attempt to solve the predicament and to my surprise, they told me to send them back and they would replace them with a new pair in the correct sizing…free of charge. It was outstanding that they would go out of their way to be honest on their mistake and do everything they could to “offer products of value that do what we claim in our communications” they effectively lived up to the ethical value of honesty.

Nearly ten years ago, Enron went from a nearly obscure company to one of the ten largest in the United States by using dishonesty. They created rolling blackouts throughout my native state of California in a dishonest business practice to take advantage of California. In continued dishonesty, they used faulty accounting practices to deceive stockholders, investors, and the rest of the world into believing they were thriving.  They made no attempt to “strive to be truthful in all situations and at all times”, their only concern was for their own paychecks and continuing the ascension of their dishonest empire.

http://www.commondreams.org/views02/0712-02.htm

About Erik Peterson

I am a recent graduate with a degree in Marketing. I've worked in the past as a Resident Assistant at my university, coached four years of football at the high school, college, and youth levels. I'm currently looking to break into the marketing field. I am very interested in Social Media, Buzz Marketing, sports (especially football and baseball), and outdoor activities. I have a weird sense of humor sometimes but I'm generally normal (or so they tell me) Find me on my other sites: Facebook: facebook.com/petersoner WordPress:erikpeterson90.wordpress.com Personal Twitter: @erikpeterson90 Marketing Twitter: @erikpeterson07 Google+:plus.google.com/u/0/104251133610876424562/posts LinkedIn: linkedin.com/pub/erik-peterson/41/565/243

Posted on January 21, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

